11:42 p.m. | 2007-09-06


Thanks for checking in babygirl, it was like seeing an email from a long lost friend;)
*~*
The funny thing about this journal is that it started out as this vapid, whimsical chronicle of my life as a 20-something living in NYC and ended up as a first-hand account of September 11th and life after it.

It's a shame that this became a morbid chronicle and to that end, it's a shame large scale tragedy was delivered to so many innocent victims.

What's done is done.

So here I am 6 years later. This will be my first anniversary spent outside of NYC. There's been less news build up to this anniversary and I suspect that makes it a little easier. Less coverage lends its own anxiety to me though, because it makes me worry that people are forgetting. I don't forget any of it.

I had a dream last weekend that one of my friends who died in the WTC showed up alive. Perfectly physically aged by 6 years but still with the same music tastes from 2001. Sitting on the beach with my friend, his wife, who resumed her old persona. Her new husband, no where in site. Both of them, absolutely elated to be together. I stood there in front of them, as they excitedly spoke to me, holding my beach chair with my mouth gaping.

It bothers me that life goes on the US that day. I feel that it should stop. It should be observed. It's been somewhat shocking to me that my new colleagues schedule meetings with me on that day without a second thought. That wouldn't have happened at my old job. Several times, I've wanted to stop them and say something about it, but say what? They weren't affected by it. They weren't there. They don't understand. That much I've learned when I've jumped up at fire alarms and questioned evacuation routes and emergency planning. They smile as if humoring me. They have no idea how suddenly it happens and how horrendous it really is. They don't know what it's like for the smell of flesh burning to permeate a city for weeks.

What strikes me as even more shocking, is that the horrors of the holocaust are more imaginable and horrifying to them than nearly 3,000 fellow citizens incinerated just 2 hours away.


previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com