21:12:33 | 2000-10-24


God works in mysterious ways.

So, I go home last night after tossing a few back with the newly umemployed gingi. Everyone take a minute and write that girl a note dammit!!!!

So I am in my bedroom and start evaluating my CD's. Every party I have, CD's end up missing. This pisses me off. Our last party was in May. I never really took inventory after it, because frankly, it depresses me to see what's missing.

Three parties ago, someone stole Disc 3 to my Janis Joplin Box set. This crushed me. I mean, I love Janis, and that disc had the Bobby Magee outtakes on it. And her singing happy birthday/Happy Trails to John Lennon. Not to mention that it broke up the box set. I mean, how wrong is that???

So I stopped dealing after that incident. Just didn't want to know. But last night, I decide to face the music and start taking inventory.

I open my John Lennon Tribute Album and I find my Cruel Intentions Soundtrack tucked in there, with the Lennon Tribute CD. This is a bittersweet find, as just LAST WEEK, I took all the empty cases of CD's I knew were long gone and ....threw them out. Except for a couple that I held onto...like my Beastie Boys "Hello Nasty" which I continue to hold out for and hope it will find its way home...the rest of those CD cases were tossed.

Which brings me to this gripe: what ever happened to listing tracks on the CD's? All you recording artists out there, listen up! It's annoying not to print the band name and album and/or tracks on the CD. Get over yourselves.

Moving forward. I thought about this find and I started to think about that Janis CD and I looked at the Janis poster on my wall and I thought, out of NOWHERE, maybe it's here.

I found myself reaching out instinctively to PHISH " A Live One," like a mother lamb, leading her newborn to her teat, and as I patiently went through the packaging, what came rolling out, but JANIS DISC 3!!!

Can you believe this! I got all flustered and started flumbling with the CD, not believing my luck on the first try.

Encouraged, I moved forward. Here's what I found:

The John Lennon Collection - Found in Dave Matthews, "Under the Table and Dreaming." Personally, I'm over Dave Matthews, but I sure was happy to find John...even though I was a little weirded out since I was just reading about him in Rolling Stone Magazine.

Macy Gray - found in Matchbox 20 "Yourself or Someone Like You." Wasn't really excited about that find.

Beck "Odelay" found in Radiohead "OK Computer" and "Ok Computer" in "Odelay." Interesting. Are they the same people?! Or are their listeners one in the same?!

Adam Ant autographed CD, stuck with dried beer to the outside bottom of the CD case. Fitting, I mused...

Grateful Dead @ Cornell 5/8/77 - found Disc 3 inside of disc one, which is good, but where the hell is Disc 1 with "They Love Each Other" on it? So then I say, forget about disc 1 (even though this is their greatest show, among the greatest week of shows the DEAD EVER played and the fact that I have the entire show on CD, is no small feat, people.)

Where's disc 2? Friends, Disc 2 is the proud player of what is possibly the most exciting, passionate and powerful version of "Scarlet" into "Fire" that we will ever be lucky enough to hear again. I imagine that if I were to ever go deaf, I could keep my sanity by replaying this version in my very active imagination. It is chaos and inner peace and volcanic heat and calm all at once.

Disc 2 is missing. I get really depressed. Case and all, someone lifted Disc 2 and it's totally irreplacable. All three discs were burned off of masters from the soundboard of the show that some roadie in VT had a few years back and I bought through an underground record store. I bought Discs 1 and 3 and we were trying to get Dics 2 but the guy got busted for something or another. So I had friends search for it for two months and one of them found it at this head shop/music store and bought it for me.

And might I add, this is no Dicks Picks for those of you out there in the know. This is the real McCoy.

I remember that trustafarian Deadhead I picked up in a bar on St. Patricks Day last year and invited back to my apt. for the party. I remember being hesitant toward his Dead heritage as he came from a wealthy area of CT where I went to school, and frankly, I know his type. I also knew the guys he hung out with. NO GOOD. But I overlooked it, thinking, you don't screw one of your own...I was wrong. I start cursing the yuppie trustafarian, having tried him judge and jury in my mind.

Depressed, I forge on.

And I find, the most amusing discovery of the night:

SHERYL CROW IN ERIC CLAPTON (From the Cradle). I mean c'mon, how genius is that? I hate Sheryl Crow. Due to the fact that she stole that song "Leaving Las Vegas" and then the songwriter died before he ever saw his piece of the pie for that song and that just kills me. And then when she was hooking up with Clapton a few years ago, I saw it for what it was...a no talent pseudo-rockstar trying to latch onto someone with talent to jumpstart her career and make some good music. So I'm sure one night I hid Sheryl in Eric and thought, hope you're happy getting what you want? And never looked back.

Eric been missing from my collection for years. But I just don't have the heart to throw his case out. I mean, the man's a musical genius. How could I?

So that's about it. A few recovered, some still lost. Among the lost:

Beastie's "Hello Nasty."

Matchbox 20 "Yourself or Someone Like You" - but who cares about that?

GD at Cornell - Disc 1 & 2.

Eric Clapton "From the Cradle"

How come no one steals my Carpenters CD? This is just another one of life's mysteries.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com