18:17:16 | 2000-06-27


What can I tell you about me?

Here's one thing I realized this weekend. Everyone has a story to tell about me. Something I did, and usually it involves me almost dying, getting arrested, or making an ass out of myself. This weekend started like a eulogy, when a bunch of us were sitting around, and they were all telling stories about me and finally I said "Hey, guys, I'm still here! I'm not dead yet." Then I believe I heard someone comment, "yet." and I'd like to acknowledge that I HEARD THAT and I did not appreciate it.

I'm really not sure how these weird instances happen to me. People ask me that question a lot. It's not like I am some raving beauty. Or so outrageous. Really, I don't think I excel at anything. I'm not really sure what makes me different.

But, I remember someone telling me something about me that stuck in my mind. A couple of years ago, a girl that I was friendly with in college - you know - not in your immediate group of friends but sometimes during a slow day you'd pop into her house and hang out for a few hours pondering life, reality and the future while stoned out of your mind...well she came to one of my parties at my apt. in NYC (post-college) after being invited by another friend I had kept in touch with. I remember she arrived early and was apprehensive so I took her around and I introduced her to everyone and I remembered that she was an artist, so when we ran out of people to chat with ( TRANSLATION: I was bored with the people at the party)- I took her upstairs and showed her some of my recent artwork. My preface being, it's not very good, but it's my work. And while we were standing there, some other people wandered in and gathered around and I started dissing my pathetic talent and was telling everyone how great of an artist my friend was...and the next thing I knew everyone was speaking to her and asking her about her work, etc. so I snuck out to greet some new arrivals. And later on during the party I refound this old friend and asked her how she was doing, and she smiled at me and she said, "You know, you have a way of making everyone feel special. No matter who they are. That's a very unique skill. It's really nice."

And I think that was one of nicest things anyone has ever said to me.

I'd like that to be on my tombstone. Forget all the crazy living, all of the celebrity stories, the travels...I'd like to be remembered as the person who made everyone feel special. Whether they were my best friend, or someone I had just met.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com