18:35:30 | 2000-06-08


I'm back!

Wait until you hear what I did! So, if you know me or you've read my past entries, you know I am a moron when it comes to travel. Seriously, I need help.

So my boss and I take a car to the airport on Tuesday afternoon and we are rushing and I am freaking out because of the stress on Tuesday of getting everything done before I left and trying to deal with my phone which somehow had a life of it's own that day with all the people calling for the event. And dealing with some stress related to some of the VIP's participating in the event. So this causes the bathroom problems to kick in. Just what you need when you are being pulled in 20 different directions and trying to get out of work and catch a plane.

So we get in the car and I think, *I'm hoping*, that the Pepto chewables I took are going to kick in and I'll be ok on this flight. Meanwhile, my boss is still on her cell phone talking to work about work and just hearing the one-sided conversation started to make me stressed again and I think I'm not going to make it to the airport. But I hope I do because all I want to do is smoke a cigarette - regardless of how that's going to effect my gastro-intestinal tract. So we get there and I feel better so I jump out of the car and light up. Loving that. Then I go in and go to the bathroom. Feeling better.

Next, we head to the bar and grab a couple of beers, look in bag for my wallet...it's not there. My wallet's not in my bag. Shit.

I start to mildly panic (is that possible?).

I call work, my wallet is not on my desk or in my drawers. I'm convinced I left it in the car. Long story short - driver finds wallet in car. Driver promises to drive back with wallet. So the driver pulls up and I run out in the rain to the car, though a gigantic puddle, and lean in (cigarette in hand) and say, "Dude! You totally delivered me a solid! I owe you HUGE." And as I lean in and give the guy a $20 out of my wallet, I see these two guys in suits sitting in the back working on their laptops and they are staring at me and smiling, and I'm like, "Oh my God, I'm sooooo sorry. Thank you so much for letting the driver come here first!" And these suits are cracking up and start yelling, "Go catch your plane! Run!" So I take off.

I missed my flight by about 10 minutes. Told my boss to go ahead without me but she wouldn't.

Whatever, at this point, we find it totally amusing. And I'm like, welcome to my world. She's like "how do these things Happen to you?" Please, if I knew the answer to that question I'd be a normal person.

So we get to D.C. late, because did I mention that our plane was delayed on the runway because Washington temporily closed the airport because of the weather? Oh yes, they did. So we end up taking off about a half hour late and by the time we landed, my boss has her crankypants on. I'm like, "eeewwwwwww, crankypants, just go to bed, I'll do the event walk through." That made her laugh. But crankypants insisted on going also. So we go through the place where were holding the event and I don't get to the hotel until like 11PM. So then I find out my room is paid for but I have to put incidentals on my credit card. What the...??? PROBLEM: I don't have a credit card. We'll, technically I HAVE a credit card, just not a WORKING credit card...you know the drill. Guess there will be no dinner for Partygirl. So, I went to my room and broke into the mini bar. An apple, a pack of milanos, a diet coke, 5 cigarettes and a bottle of water later, I am tucked into my bed watching the Pirates of Silcon Valley. Dude - I need to the see the whole thing, it's compelling! Who knew those nerds would be so interesting???

Wednesday I'm up at the crack of ass. Working. Event went well.

Flew back to NYC last night; I'm beat. And I had to be up early this morning and truck all the way downtown to the World Trade Center for an awards breakfast. It was for a food charity and let me tell you, there are some hottie chefs in this city. I am very happy about this upcoming project. Got into work about noon.

Was experiencing some stress about this weekend. It's my 5-year college reunion and some peeps have been bugging me because I announced a couple of months ago that I wasn't going. Just not in the mood to deal and quite frankly, I see everyone I want to see. But this week I started to have second thoughts about going. I mean there are like 1 or 2 people I lost along the way when they joined the Peace Corps and some other adventure-type doings, and I'd like to see what happened to them. It's interesting because that was the road I was going to take, before I sold out and moved to NYC and started working for the Man. So I kinda want to see what the road less traveled would have been like. What I would have been like.

I was also concerned about the Waco group (my friends)that I went to that rad wedding with a month or so ago. Our motto used to be, "be there or be talked about," so if everyone was going, I'd have to decide if I wanted to put in an appearance or risk the bad mouthing. So I put some feelers out there today to see if any of the Waco kids are going. They're totally not going. I was soooooo psyched. I'm not missing anything!

So I'm going canoeing down the Brandywine River on Saturday! So excited~ As you know, I just saw Meatballs a couple of weeks ago and I've been itching to do something boat-oriented after watching that scene when the CIT's all go canoeing on the lake. How fun????!?!? And they are having a BBQ and reggae band after the canoe trip. Loving that. I'm all ready to misbehave.

Watch your ass*

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com