8:22 p.m. | 2002-11-05


I went to see Sigur Ros on Friday night with gingi and two friends.

Sigur Ros is interesting to me in that they are held in high regard among the indie world, but to me, they are a modern day jam band.

Their jam isn't that of the Dead, but it's a more modern technological evolution of Pink Floyd. Sung in a made up language.

Going to a Sigur Ros show is like sitting in your grade school auditorium with all the other kids your age and watching a home movie from the late-seventies. The images look like home to you. You become lost in the visuals until you suddenly notice that all of the intrumentalists have hit upon a rhythm that's right and everyone in the school auditorium recognizes it at the same time as the band practice a repetitive measure of the beat, building up to a cresendo that makes you feel like you are going to drown if they don't cap it off and take you somewhere else musically.

It's a little bit mind blowing. It's been a while since I've been to a mind blowing show.

Leaving the show, I felt like all of that garbage they play on the mainstream radio was sand in my bathing suit and seeing Sigur Ros was correlated to jumping into the Atlantic in June - cold, wet, with an undertoe but overall, cleansing.

It's a wake up call, America. Put down the "Justified" and embrace the Hopelandic.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com