16:08:16 | 2000-05-19


So the birthday came and went. I worked late and decided to bail on the dinner/drinks plans and go home. Didn't get out in time to avoid the massive storm last night. Which reminds me - try to avoid walking through a torrential down pour in 4" high, ankle strap platforms. While trying to duck from the bolts of lightening exploding in the sky and hitting remarkably close to the Eastside, I was slipping and sliding my way down a side street mid-town, desparately looking for a taxi. About 30 minutes later, I got one. Went home and rented a movie, Return to Paradise. That film is F-ed up! Mid-movie I had to stop the film as a roommate came in, having had a few glasses of red wine, with a story to tell.

This morning. I woke up at 8:17AM. And my boss is away so that means I need to be in here, on time, until that date. Making sure the dept. is getting their work done, answering questions, representin' at meetings and basically just here to pinch hit. Oh, and get my regular work done. This is a lot of responsibility, particularly for a Partygirl who doesn't really have the energy to play corporate games, which they know I won't - I play by my rules which are pretty legit just a little more relaxed. So it should be no surprise to anyone that my eye is already twitching with angst.

Allegedly, my alarm went off at 6:30AM, but I woke up at 8:17am. No time for showering, so my hair is up in little clips - ala Courtney Love before she went Hollywood - a big mess. Run out onto First Avenue - it's pouring rain so there's not a chance in HELL I'm getting a taxi...start running toward the subway when out of NOWHERE a little beacon of light shines...in the form of an on-duty taxi coming right at me* I start running toward it, weaving through the bus lane and the taxi driver sees me and starts pulling over...when out of nowhere I see some Puerto Rican chick pop of the woodwork and try to box me out of my taxi. Normally, this would involve a fight, but was late and I was in no mood for a fight, so I turned to her and said, I'm going to mid-town - do you want to just share? She smiled and said perfect, she was on her way to Hell's Kitchen and I could get out first and she'd take it to her place. We get in the car and I find out she doesn't even have to get to work, she's off today, and this annoys me because why the hell was she trying to play my taxi if she's got nowhere to go, but whatever...So as it turns out this woman, a mother of a teenage girl, was out last night until all hours and crashed at a friend's house. Who is watching the daughter you might ask (I know I was thinking it), but apparently the mother was more concerned about whether the daughter may have picked up the phone last night or screened, when her BF called to find out where Mom was on Thursday night until all hours. Not to mention that this woman smelled like a dirty ashtray. I mean I smoke, so I shouldn't be complaiming, but Jesus, some people just retain smoke, ya know? Incredible. Anyway, at some part of her travels she tells me they ended up at Club NY last night (isn't that the place where Puffy's protege shot a bunch of people and then Puffy and Jennifer took off in the car with the gun?? Yes, I think it is.) So, with this in mind, I ask this woman if she had to wait in line to get in. She tells me no, she knows the keeper of the VIP list so she called him and had them added before they got there. Of course you did, ashtray woman.... Meanwhile, she's in this gray silk suit and I'm thinkin' what are doing at Club NY in a silk suit...or at any club in a suit? What's goin' on there? Whatever, I got to work about 5 minutes late and gave her money - more than I should have, but who has time to haggle with the human ashtray - and motored into work. I've been in meetings all day. Literally, I started writing this when I came in at 9am and I'm just getting back to finish it at 3:00PM.

Meanwhile, I have like 80 e-mails telling me not to open any attachments because there's another version of the ILOVEYOU going around. Which of course I opened last time. And of course, I opened it several times because I couldn't figure out why the attachment wouldn't open...and of course, I then went on the network and opened some client folders to get some work done. Which then wiped out all of my .jpgs and MP3's. And wiped out everyone's here. And shut us down.

So, here I am trying to juggle about 10 accounts, an office party, meetings, a new corporate committee that somehow I was "elected to head up (how does that HAPPEN???) and trying to get something down in this damn journal.

I'm going to be drinking myself into oblivion this weekend. That, you can bet on.

I'm going outside to have a cigarette. I don't usually do this, but today's a good day to start.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com