20:53:14 | 2000-05-22


The Party. Was. Outta Hand.

I'm not really sure how that happened.

We had the least amount of people there of any party we've had, but it got crazy.

It was raining all day, and we were all freaking out because we had no idea where we would put this crowd if they couldn't be out on the terrace with the keg. Tara decided to buy a much talked about tarp - we've talked about trying this for years and never got around to doing it. We've looked into renting a tent b4, but it's a few thousand $, so it'd really have to be an occasion for us to do that. So she came back with two green tarps 15x20 ft. And somehow, three of what is now the Four-Bitch-Project living in our apt., were able to rig the tarp's into a cool looking tent over the terrace. Our terrace has white lights all around the 17x24 ft. space, so they lit up the interior. Of course, it stopped raining a couple of hours before the party...

I was able to secure a 75-pound block of ice and Tara and I (mostly Tara) carved a luge run into the ice. Everyone had to do a least one shot on the luge, and honestly the luge was so popular that I didn't think we'd kick the keg of Saranac or the massive amount of sangria we had made. But of course we did. Kick both, that is. The luge was a big hit.

There were some surprise guests. My friend A. flew in from Boston and surprised me! It was so great. And my friend J. came to town from LA on business that week and extended his ticket so he could surprise me and come to the party. It was great to see J., whom as usual got me into trouble with extracurricular activities. Bad, very bad. After my whole 27-club tirade and there I am carrying on at my birthday like John Belushi. Well, clearly not THAT bad, but you get the idea. I got in trouble on Sunday with one of my roommates for my bad behavior, but really, I was at fault. I don't know what got into me.

So we had the surprise guests, and then there were the work people who came. I was trying to be on good behavior, really, but hell, they all know I'm crazy anyway, so that kinda went out of the window. Meanwhile, this guy that one of the Boston contingent brought attached himself to my side and I had some trouble shaking him. There's something about that Mass. accent that reallyreallyreally BUGS. Jen brought a cute boy that I was flirting with...I'll have to follow up with her on that.

I was able to maintain some semblance of normalcy until about 1am. Then it all went to pot, literally. D., H. and H's BF went to the SNL after party. God only knows what might have happened if I had showed up there in my condition, but I feel it would have resulted in a late-night story involving Kid Rock. I had the party guests remnants...people passing out on the floors, on each other, a mess of bodies. Kicked some of those people out, the others headed downtown to dance at clubs and I ended up wrapping it up somewhat early and got to bed around 3:30AM.

Sunday was, as you would imagine, a waste of a day. T., my roommate, was in some bad shape. Clean-up was pretty easy. We all sat around and watched TV all day.

Thought today was going to be traumatic, with my boss being out and leaving me in charge, but I am sitting here relatively unscathed as the day winds to an end. My eye has even stopped twitching! Yea!!!!!

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com