19:35:39 | 2000-10-09


Gotta love the Jewish holidays when you live in NYC. It's actually a PLEASURE to come to work. It took me 10 minutes, rather than my usual 40. And I got a seat on the subway. This is HUGE. [NOTE TO READERS: This is not anti-semetic remark.]

The sidewalks are empty and it reminds me of the Blizzard of '95 when I left work late and was just about the only person on the streets. Thanks to the Columbus Day parade, there are no tourists walking too slowly in front of me, oblivious of the set pace on the sidewalks of NYC during rush hour, craning their necks to exclaim in some gobbley-gook foreign language about the height of buildings.

Nope, today I had the entire sidewalk to myself and it was a luxury. Arrived to a nearly empty office. Slipped my Dido CD into my CD-Rom and let it roll. If you don't have it, you should buy it. I have it turned up to 11. These people could use a little culture anyway.

Someone came back from maternity leave and brought her baby, my friend was asked to watch it. So she called me and I raced upstairs...I'm sucker for a baby.

They were in a small meeting and I see this baby on the floor, my friend tells me I can stay. So I sit down on the floor and play with the baby. She starts giggling and laughing and cooing, and I would like to add that everyone in the room was surprised at my obvious professional knack with babies. Watch your ass. I firmly believe that babies can see inside a person's soul. They can recognize innate goodness, happiness or misery.

So, while I was playing on the Pack and Play, I was thinking about babies and this baby's name. And I reached the conclusion: I think children should choose their own name. I mean, who am I to force a name on a child? What if it is totally unfitting? That's totally uncool. Because your name is your ticket, man. Your ticket to success on the playground, the first thing they see when you are reviewed for a college or university, or a job. I mean, your name is a really big F-ing deal and I don't want to be blamed for being a shitty name-giver by my snot-nosed unborn kids.

Just a thought.

Another thought I had: Is Edie Brickell as pissed off as I am at Paul Simon for ending what was the start of a very promising career? I've been dying to get that off my chest. I mean, it really pisses me off. And I recognize that he has talent, but she was the start of something BIG. And then he locked her away somewhere, and I'm like, where's my old friend who told us all that the coolest thing we could be was the simplest thing - what we are.

And last, I do have to note that I heard from Marnie2000 that someone else is setting up an advice page for DL. This, quite frankly is shite because I placed a request with Andrew last January to do this and he blew me off.

I mean, with my living experience and Marnie2000's psych degree, we would be legendary advice givers. It's like the DREAM TEAM of advice. Anyway, this other DL person is running with the idea, so I guess we'll just have to wait and see how he/she does. But we would have been better.

I do realize that's totally immature. But so am I.

Oh! Someone brought me a cupcake. Gotta go!

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com